top of page

Tarot Explained: Tarot & Astrology

Did you know that every major tarot card is associated with either a planet or an astrological sign? Even each of the suits in the Minor Arcana are linked to the four elements which make up the zodiac.

If you’re already into your zodiac signs, this should be a piece of cake. If you are new to astrology, don’t worry. This guide will walk you through the basics.

The Elements & The Minor Arcana

The 12 signs of the zodiac are grouped into four elements and those four elements are represented as the four suits of the minor deck.

Each of the elements, has its own characteristics which reflect in the themes of the whole suits, regardless of the number displayed. Numbers one to 10 tend to represent the aspects of a situation.

If you draw a court card such as a Page (child or teen), Knight (young or immature man), Queen (young and mature or older woman) or King (mature older man), they tend to represent people in our lives with a sun sign belonging to that element or who have those qualities.

Pentacles/Coins - Earth (Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn)

Earth signs tend to be materialistic and down to earth. So, pentacle cards tend to be about money and material issues, as well as our relationship with nature.

Cups - Water (Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces)

Water signs tend to be emotionally sensitive and intuitive. Cups are therefore all about matters of the heart including love, marriage and break-ups, as well as spirituality.

Swords - Air (Gemini, Aquarius and Libra)

Air signs tend to be big thinkers and good communicators. So, swords represent matters of the mind. While that means smart ideas, it can also mean our anxious thoughts.

Wands - Fire (Aries, Leo and Sagittarius)

Fire signs tend to be passionate, creative and energetic. Wands are therefore associated with exciting new projects and work, as well as positive people.

The Planets, The Signs & The Major Arcana

Each of the 12 zodiac signs is represented by one of the 21 major cards. The other major cards may not be directly linked to a sign, but are each associated with a planet.

Every planet in our solar system represents a different area of our lives, and rules one or more of the zodiac signs. The planets therefore influence the characteristics of all the signs and all of the cards in the deck.

The cards in the Major Arcana represent big themes in our lives, as well as characteristics in ourselves or influential people in our lives.

The Fool – Uranus

The Fool is unconventional and a free spirit, who can appear foolish when he takes risks. It therefore makes sense that this card is linked to Uranus, associated with rebellion and innovation.

The Magician – Mercury

The Magician has the skills and power to manifest his dreams. In the same way, Mercury is said to be connected to the divine and communication.

The High Priestess – Moon

Both are associated with the divine feminine, intuition and the unconscious mind.

The Empress – Venus

Both are associated with love, pleasure and sensuality. Mother nature and motherly qualities are also big themes.

The Emperor - Aries

Both are powerful, fiery and like to be in charge. The Emperor tends to be male or have masculine energy.

The Hierophant – Taurus

Both are associated with strong beliefs and tradition. The Hierophant is linked to orthodox practices such as religion and education.

The Lovers – Gemini

The Lovers can represent a romantic union between two people, but it can also represent two choices. Geminis are said to have two different sides to their personalities.

The Chariot – Cancer

The Chariot is pulled side to side, rather than travelling straight. Cancer’s symbol is a crab also moves sideways. Both are about moving in a new direction.

Strength – Leo

Both are associated with the lion, a creature symbolising courage and mental strength, rather than brute physical force.

The Hermit – Virgo

Virgos like to seek understanding and knowledge. The Hermit needs time alone to rest, reflect and develop wisdom.

The Wheel of Fortune – Jupiter

Both are linked to expansion through a connection to the cosmic. The Wheel is about trusting the universe and remembering that things are always in flux.

Justice – Libra

Both are associated with the scales of justice, which represent balance and fairness. Justice is about getting what you deserve.

The Hanged Man – Neptune

Both are to do with mystical awareness. Neptune is linked to spirituality and the Hanged Man, often linked to The Crucifixion, sees things from a unique perspective.

Death - Scorpio

Death is about endings, but more importantly, rebirth. Scorpios are good at reinventing themselves.

Temperance – Sagittarius

Although Sagittarius does things in extremes, Temperance reminds us that balance and moderation is the better approach.

The Devil - Capricorn

Capricorns can be accused of being controlling. The Devil can represent a manipulative person or a bad habit – sometimes of our own making.

The Tower – Mars

Mars is the planet of war and destruction. The Tower is about a chaotic and sudden change.

The Star – Aquarius

Both are associated with hope and new beginnings. Both are about looking beyond the here and now. Aquarius is said to be ahead of its time, and the stars are out of this world.

The Moon - Pisces

The Moon controls the tides and both are associated with water. Both represent intuition and spirituality, as well as confusion and deception.

The Sun - Sun

The Sun in both cases is associated with vitality, positivity and growth.

Judgement – Pluto

Both are about transformation and rebirth. Judgement calls you to assess your actions and change direction if needed.

The World - Saturn

Both represent self-mastery and completion. Saturn can be restrictive as it is associated with structure. However, this card is about a journey coming to an end. The world is now your oyster.

Come back next month for lesson three in the Tarot Explained series! Missed lesson one? Check it out here.

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page